Sharks win Hebou Shield Women’s 40 Over Division Grand Final- Hebou Shield Day 9 Wrap

Cricket Papua New Guinea, Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:17PM

The Sharks easily defeated the Piranas by six (6) wickets in the Grand Final of the Hebou Shield Women’s 40 Over Division today at Amini Park #2 (Bisini).


After winning the toss and electing to bat first on a warm day in Port Moresby, the Piranas posted a very competitive 8/164 off their allotted 40 overs. Captain, Tanya Ruma (35) and Helen Buruka (34) once again were among the runs for the Piranas while Vicky Araa made a very handy unbeaten 32 runs in the middle order. Konio Oala  (2/9) and Tueni Vala (2/30) were the only multiple wicket taker for the Sharks while Sibona Jimmy (1/19), Valo Lega (1/19) and Ravini Oa (1/33) all picked up a single wicket.


In reply, the Sharks slumped to 2/34 after in-form opening batswoman, Brenda Tau (7) was run out and Naoani Vare (13) was trapped Leg Before Wicket (LBW) by Hina Philip. Gari Buruka then steadied the innings with a handy 20 runs before Sharks’ Captain Jimmy (60*) and Lega (24*) put on an unbeaten 93 run fifth wicket partnership to guide the Sharks to an easy victory.


The women have a week’s break before the Hebou Shield Women’s T20 Competition starts on Tuesday 4th July, 2017.


The HEBOU Shield- Cricket PNG’s Premier First Class Competition. The HEBOU Shield Men’s Competition is divided into two (2) divisions- 3 Day and 50 Over Competitions, while the Women’s Division is divided into two (2) divisions- 40 Over and T20 Competitions. All Hebou Shield matches will take place at Amini Park in June and July.

 2017 HEBOU Shield Scores (Week 3)

Women’s 40 Over Division- Grand Final

Piranas 8/164 (40) Tanya Ruma 35, Helen Buruka 34, Vicky Araa 32*, Kari Seura 25, Konio Oala 2/9 (2), Tueni Vala 2/30 (6), Sibona Jimmy 1/19 (8), Valo Lega 1/19 (6), Ravini Oa 1/33 (8) defeated by Sharks 4/169 (32.1) Sibona Jimmy 60*, Valo Lega 24*, Gari Buruka 20, Tanya Ruma 1/20 (7), HIna Philip 1/26 (5), Kari Seura 1/31 (7) by six (6) wickets with 47 balls remaining. 

Last updated: Thursday June 22, 2017 4:49PM