Helen Macindoe appointed first female Chairperson at Cricket PNG’s AGM

Cricket Papua New Guinea, Wed Jun 7, 2017 3:44PM

Helen Macindoe, proud owner and Managing Director of Pure Water, a well known Port Moresby based business was officially announced as the Chairperson of Cricket PNG at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which was held yesterday at the Cricket PNG Office.

Macindoe becomes the seventh (7th) Chairperson to be appointed on the Cricket PNG Board since the Cricket PNG Board was formed in 1973. Macindoe will follow Justice Thomas (1973-1982), Nigel Agonia (1982-1986), Veari Maha (1986-2001), William Maha (2001-2005), Mick Nades (2005-2016) and Wayne Dorgan (2016-2017), becoming the first  female to take the post at Cricket PNG, and becoming the only female Chairperson on a National Cricketing Body of the top sixteen (16) countries in the world.  

“Cricket PNG has a long history of being overseen by Boards made up of highly competent and professional people. That history and the commitment of those involved to the highest levels of good governance have contributed to crickets growth in PNG and also to the organization’s strong standing amongst the international cricket community. I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to carry on the work of previous Boards and look forward to helping Cricket PNG achieve its aim of being PNG’s favourite family sport,” said Macindoe.

Macindoe will lead a new Cricket PNG Board which compromises of Rio Fiocco (Deputy Chairperson), Michael Harrison (Secretary), Paul Kiruwi (Treasurer), Johnson Kalo (Women’s Cricket Director), Justin McGann (Infrastructure & Development Director) and Dean Ani (Affiliated Associations Representative).    

Iammo Launa was not re-elected as the Women’s Cricket Director after serving on the Cricket PNG Board since 2011. Launa, a former PNG Sports Foundation Chief Executive Director and a leading sports personality in her own right played a major role in the development of cricket in PNG and was praised by Macindoe at the AGM for her valuable contribution.

“Iammo was on the Cricket PNG Board for over six (6) years and is a sport champion of PNG both on and off the field.   Her input and insightfulness to sport in PNG was of great benefit to Cricket PNG over her time on the Board and she played a major role in the development of women’s cricket in PNG and the City Pharmacy PNG Lewas,” said Macindoe.  

Johnson Kalo, Michael Harrison and Dean Ani are the three (3) new Cricket PNG Board Members. Kalo, the former Deputy CEO and Chief Financial Officer of Bank South Pacific (BSP) was appointed the new Women’s Cricket Director. Harrison, the current Managing Director of MJ Electricals was appointed the Secretary while Dean Ani, current Port Moresby Cricket Association (POMCA) President was appointed the Affiliated Associations Representative.


2017/18 Cricket PNG Board

Chairperson-                                         Helen Macindoe

Deputy Chairperson-                              Rio Fiocco

Secretary-                                             Michael Harrison

Treasurer-                                              Paul Kiruwi

Women’s Cricket Director-                     Johnson Kalo

Director of Infrastructure-                       Justin McGann

Affiliated Association Representative-    Dean Ani   

Last updated: Wednesday June 7, 2017 4:16PM