Assad Vala makes debut for Galaxy Gladiators in Hong Kong T20 Blitz

Cricket Papua New Guinea, Thu Mar 9, 2017 1:59AM

HEBOU PNG Barramundis’ Captain and batting star, Assad Vala made his debut for the Galaxy Gladiators Lantau today in the opening match against Hung Hom JD Jaguars in the DTC Hong Kong T20 Blitz in Hong Kong today.

In shortened 11 over per side match dues to morning showers, the Hung Hom JD Jaguars posted an impressive 3/145 off their allotted 11 overs at Tin Kwong Road Recreation Ground. International cricketing stars, James Franklin (58* off 27 balls) and Darren Sammy (52* off 19 balls) were the destroyers with the bat for the Hung Hom JD Jaguars putting on an unbeaten century partnership for the fourth wicket while Vala impressed with the ball taking 1/15 off two (2) overs.

In reply, the Galaxy Gladiators only managed 8/118 off their 11 overs, with captain Anshuman Rath hitting 45 runs off just 24 balls. Unfortunately Vala, batting at number 3 was run not for a duck in a mix up with Rath while Ashley Caddy (3/17) and Imran Arif (3/18) both picked up three (3) wickets apiece in the Hung Hom JD Jaguars’ 27 run victory.

Speaking to Cricket PNG after the match, Vala was disappointed with the result, but was excited at the upcoming matches.

“I was happy with my bowling performance taking 1/15 off my 2 overs with the scoring rate going at 13. It was a great experience bowling to those players (James Franklin and Darren Sammy) who were trying to hit every ball out of the park,” said Vala.

“It was unfortunate the way I got out today but that happens in cricket. The best thing about this game is that I have an opportunity tomorrow. He (Anshuman Rath) apologised after the match about the run-out but that is part of the game. I just have to put in a good performance tomorrow,” concluded Vala.   

The Galaxy Gladiators Lantau take on City Kaitak in their Round 2 match tomorrow.

DTC Hong Kong T20 Blitz is a Twenty20 franchise cricket tournament scheduled to hold its second edition from March 8-12 in 2017. The tournament has extended to a five-team competition from the inaugural four with the event held over five days at Tin Kwong Road Recreation Ground in Mong Kok. The Hong Kong T20 Blitz brings the world’s best short form players together the with the premier local domestic cricket talent.

There is also a focus on developing Associate Cricket, with each team required to select at least one overseas player from a non-full member nation. A total of five overseas players per team will be permitted in the 2017 tournament, up from 3 in a playing XI in 2016. 

This is the first time that any PNG cricketer has been selected in a professional cricket competition in the world. HEBOU PNG Barramundis’ players Assad Vala (Brisbane Heat), Charles Amini Jnr (Sydney Sixers) and Lega Siaka (Melbourne Renegades) all received Cricket Australia’s Big Bash League Rookie Contracts in the past but never actually played a game.

Match Summary

Hum Hom JD Jaguars 3/145 (11) James Franklin 58* (27), Darren Sammy 52* (19), Assad Vala 1/15 (2) defeated Galaxy Gladiators 8/118 (11)Anshuman Rath 45 (24), assad Vala 0 (1), Ashley  Caddy 3/17 (2), Imran Arif 3/18 (2) by 27 runs.



Galaxy Gladiators Lantau

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka),  Jesse Ryder (New Zealand), Sohail Tanvir (Pakistan), Seekkuge Prasanna (Sri Lanka),  Assad Vala (PNG), Anshuman RathMohammad AwaisMo Khan, Sourav Kumar, Haseeb Amjad, Daniyal Bukhari, Courtney Kruger, Karandeep Singh, Arshad Haroon Mohammad, Ishaq Ibraheem Muhammad, Jason Lui

Hong Kong Island United

Misbah Ul-Haq (Pakistan) (C), Ian Bell (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), George Munsey (Scotland), Jamie AtkinsonTanwir AfzaalEhsan Khan, Daniel Pascoe, Kyle Christie, Moner Dar, Muhammad Balal, Devang Bulsara, Rory Caines, Ady Lee, Anas Khan

City KaiTak

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Kyle Coetzer (Scotland), Nicholas Pooran (West Indies), Rayad Emrit (West Indies), Chris Jordan (England), Aizaz Khan (c)Nadeem Ahmed, Gareth Harte,  Ryan Buckley, Waqas Barkat, Raag Kapur, Akbar Khan, Niaz Ali, Ankur Sharma, Sheryar Saeed, Siegfried Wai.

Kowloon Cantons

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Dwayne Smith (West Indies),  Marlon Samuels (West Indies), Yasir Arafat (Pakistan), Calum MacLeod (Scotland), Babar Hayat (c), Tanveer Ahmed, Shahid Wasif, Waqas Khan, Isaac Pool, Ehsan Nawaz, Ahsan Abassi, Li Kai Min, Muddasar Hussain, Angus Robson

Hum Hom JD Jaguars

Darren Sammy (West Indies),  Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan), Mohammad Naveed (UAE),  James Franklin (New Zealand), Johan Botha (South Africa), Kinchit Shah (C), Ninad Shah, Nizakat KhanChris Carter (WKT), Imran Arif, Simandeep Singh, Sikander Zafar, Ashley Caddy, Skhawat Ali, Vishal Sharma 



Wednesday       8th March          10:00am           Hung Hom JD Jaguars vs Galaxy Gladiators Lantau

Wednesday       8th March          02:00pm           City Kaitak vs Kowloon Cantons

Thursday           9th March          10:00am            Hung Hom JD Jaguars vs HKI United

Thursday           9th March          02:00pm           Galaxy Gladiators Lantau vs City Kaitak

Friday               10th March   &n

Last updated: Thursday March 9, 2017 3:31AM