Cricket PNG announce new National Selection Panel

Cricket Papua New Guinea, Fri Feb 3, 2017 8:06AM

Cricket PNG (CPNG) announced the new National Selection Panel (NSP) for 2017 at Amini Park today.


The four-man NSP will be lead by Daniel Faunt (Chairman of Selectors) with Taunao Vai (Selector), Navu Maha (Selector) and Dipak Patel (Head Coach/Selector) making up the panel. Faunt, Vai and Patel were retained in the NSP from last year, with the Maha being included in the NSP for the first time.


Maha is a former HEBOU PNG Barramundis captain, Team Manager for the ICC WCLC match against Kenya last year and have played a major role in the development of cricket in PNG through his involvement with Port Moresby Cricket Association (POMCA) and Hoods Cricket Club.


 “We are pleased to welcome Navu Maha to the National Selectors Panel. As a past Barramundi Captain, he will bring a wealth of experience to the panel as well as his depth of knowledge of all aspects of Cricket PNG and importantly Port Moresby Cricket,” said Chairman of Selectors, Daniel Faunt.


The NSP’s first major task in 2017 will be selecting the HEBOU PNG Barramundis that will tour Australia as a part of the Prime Minister’s XI fixture next week.  


“Myself, Taunao Vai, Dipak Patel and Navu are looking forward to helping drive a busy program for PNG Cricket in 2017,” concluded Faunt.


The NSP will officially announce the HEBOU PNG Barramundis Squad tomorrow.



2017 Cricket PNG National Selection Panel


  1. Daniel Faunt      -          Chairman of Selectors
  2. Taunao Vai        -           Selector
  3. Dipak Patel       -            Selector/Head Coach
  4. Navu Maha        -           Selector
Last updated: Friday February 3, 2017 9:37AM